15
Feb
09

Diana’s Sunday Quickie

I have an awesomely cool writing workspace!

A little over a year ago, my husband and I were house shopping. I won’t go into what a nightmare that ended up being, but one of the 456, 793 houses that we looked at (okay, maybe it just felt like it was that many) was a house with a separate building behind it.  For a variety of reasons we decided to put an offer in on a different house, but when that contract blew up in our face, we went right back to the house with the out-building.  And, immediately wondered what the hell we were thinking by going for the other house over this one!

As you can probably guess by now, we bought that house, and I immediately claimed the out-building as MINE MINE MINE ALL MINE!!!!

lair1

The upstairs has a really great view of the third fairway of the golf course:

lair10

And the coolest thing?  The only way to get to the upstairs is by climbing a ladder:

lair4

lairphase2

I looooooooove my writing lair!


4 Responses to “Diana’s Sunday Quickie”


  1. February 19, 2009 at 5:18 pm

    Your writing lair is unbelievably cool. I’ve often thought that if I move away from NYC, back to some place where the housing styles are a little more spread-out and suburban, I’d like to do something similar — get a house with a tiny storage house or barn and convert it into a writing lair. One day, maybe!

  2. 2 Terri
    February 20, 2009 at 2:07 am

    And I thought my loft was cool. That is fabulous.

  3. March 30, 2009 at 2:51 pm

    *SO FREAKING JEALOUS* Your hideaway truly is the most fabulous writer’s space I’ve ever seen. No wonder you’re smug about it 😉

    Do you have curtains for their summer, though? Or so no one can see you dancing? 😉

  4. March 30, 2009 at 6:29 pm

    No curtains. I have to hope that the golfers just don’t notice me! 😀


Leave a comment