18
May
09

How does it feel?

I feel numb. Dizzy. Kind of swimmy in the head and a little bit ferswoonish in the gut. Because my book comes out tomorrow (that’s Norse Code, for you search engine bots), and I know of at least one person who’s already bought it at a bookstore, and that means it’s probably too late for another revision pass.

I went to a Catholic school for one year, first grade, and was taught that erasing equalled cheating. If you put down the wrong answer, then you have sinned, and that’s between you and God and Father Hoben or if you’re lucky Father Bond who’s nicer. An eraser cannot absolve you. We had a math quiz, and I put down a wrong answer (let’s say it was 5 in answer to 4 + 2). Realizing my mistake before handing my paper in, but lacking an eraser, I did the only logical thing I could think of: lick finger, rub away my sin, and absolve myself with a confidentally written 6.

So, tomorrow, as my book hits the shelves, that’s what I’ll be doing: Smearing saliva over every copy of my book I can find and penciling in corrections to all the egregiously poor choices of language and story I made.

I know this entry doesn’t make a lot of sense. I blame the ferswoonishness.


7 Responses to “How does it feel?”


  1. 1 Terri-Lynne
    May 18, 2009 at 9:32 am

    I wish I could have a party for you; see your face when you walk into the room and everyone yells “Surprise!” The whole room would be decorated in Norse traps and trimmings; I’d have a woman dressed up like your cover art, ready and waiting with her big sword so that you could spar. I’d have the greatest cake of all time with the words, “Greg is AWESOME” written in gold letters; and I’d have an extra shot of insulin waiting so you could actually have a piece without dying. I would print up all the ‘coffee and writing’ pics from your LJ during those times of work and revision and have them bound into a book that all your friends could sign.

    Oh…and I’d have Rush perform–or at least CDs to play on the boombox. 🙂

    That’s what I would do if I could; if 3000 miles didn’t get in the way. I’m thrilling for you, my dear. I can’t wait to go down to Borders, find your book and buy yet another copy just because.

  2. 2 DKT
    May 18, 2009 at 10:57 am

    Dude, that’s some wicked Catholic guilt!

  3. May 18, 2009 at 2:57 pm

    Terri-Lynne, you are just about the sweetest ever. I’ll be buying envelopes for book shipping today, btw.

    Dave, to this day I still don’t know if the “no erasers” rule was really a Catholic thing, or if it was more some new-fangled pedagogical approach they’d taught our teacher in college.

  4. May 18, 2009 at 5:56 pm

    WTFs at that “no erasers” thing; since when are mistakes a sin? But whatever.

    Congrats on your book launch! It never occurred to me that this might make an author feel “ferswoonish” (I LOVE that word); now I’m wondering if I’ll feel the same when that day comes. Guess I’ll find out in 8 months. =)

  5. 5 mentatjack
    May 18, 2009 at 10:19 pm

    I bought my copy on the way home today. Had them go grab it from the back. I noticed something interesting when I opened it up … 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 … did they do a second printing before the release date!?

    In any case, congrats.

  6. 6 rachelaaron
    May 19, 2009 at 4:53 am

    Book was preordered, so hopefully Amazon will drop a lovely package on my doorstep today or tomorrow. Super congrats, and I promise not to notice any errors or omissions!

  7. May 19, 2009 at 7:43 am

    [Whoa, that is one harsh Catholic school. Didn’t they believe in the eraser that is Jesus Christ?]

    Congrats again on the book. I just ordered it because stuff like this always slips my mind. (I forgot to preorder Maggie’s book too and had to order that on the day of its release.)

    Some of us count on the “You know that book you’ve been waiting months for? It’s out.” posts. (Also, I read the first chapters on the web. Can’t wait…)


Leave a comment