27
Apr
10

Bewitched & Betrayed is on sale today

And it’s about danged time! I’ve wanted ya’ll to read it just as badly as you want to get your hands on it.

If you’re going to buy Bewitched & Betrayed for yourself or a friend, please buy it this week. As I’m sure you’re all sick of hearing me say, The New York Times counts first week’s sales toward making their bestseller list — as do some other bestseller lists.

For those of you who haven’t started the series yet, here are some really fun reviews of each book by a reader/reviewer who has just discovered the series, too:
Magic Lost, Trouble Found
Armed & Magical
The Trouble With Demons

I’ve gotten questions from some of you over the past week about the availability of the eBook version of B&B. Here’s the deal:

The eBook will go on-sale today at the retail sites below. I’ve linked to the B&B eBook or to my page on each site — with the exception of Apple. I’m not sure what the deal is with the Apple store yet. If any of you know, please enlighten me. ; )

B&N
Sony
Apple
Ebooks.com
Kobo (a Canadian retailer)

Now comes the not-so-great news. Amazon is still “negotiating” with Penguin. So until such time as terms are reached, Bewitched & Betrayed won’t be available on Kindle. Amazon has pulled the “Buy” button on all of Penguin’s new eBook releases. B&B could be available on the Kindle in a few hours, days or weeks. I don’t know and my editor doesn’t know. Unfortunately we have absolutely no control over the situation. This is between the Amazon and Penguin corporate folks. Let’s hope a resolution is reached soon.

Negotiations are also ongoing between Penguin and the ebook wholesalers that distribute to several smaller retailers, including Fictionwise, BooksOnBoard and Diesel. So the eBook version of B&B isn’t available from these retailers today.

And for some fun news, B&B and my other three books will be available as audiobooks from Audible.com on July 6.

I hope all this information is helpful. I know some of you will stay up half the night devouring B&B. ; ) Because that’s what a lot of you have said you did with my past books. And using words like “devour”, “consume”, and “plow through” bring warm & fuzzies to an author’s heart. As does fussing at me because you had to stay up all night reading. It’s music to an author’s ears.

Let me know how you like the book. Post comments and email me; as always, I want to hear what you all think. These books are for you. And if you fall head over heels for B&B, please feel free to post a glowing review on the book retailer site of your choice. ; ) People do pay attention to reviews. Enough good reviews can (and do) tip the scales as to whether someone buys a book or not.

I hope you all love the book, enjoy yourselves, and have one helluva fun read! Ya’ll are simply the best fans and I’m blessed to be able to call you mine.

Hugs for you all!
Lisa

5 Responses to “Bewitched & Betrayed is on sale today”


  1. April 27, 2010 at 9:04 am

    I’ll definitely be buying it today. I am so lucky to work in a bookstore so I don’t have to make a special trip to get my favorite books and your series places high on my list of favorites.

  2. April 27, 2010 at 9:12 am

    Awww, that’s so sweet; thank you so much! It would be SO dangerous for me to work in a bookstore. I’d end up leaving half of my paycheck there. ; )

    Lisa

  3. April 28, 2010 at 9:58 am

    I have a question now that I am halfway through your book. Did it come natural using modern language (like comparing wards to a bug zapper) in a fairly traditional fantasy setting? I want to write fantasy with swords and sorcery but when I do my language gets all formal and stilted and I worry about how modern my word choices are. I lose all of my own natural voice.

    Any advice for this?

  4. April 29, 2010 at 8:25 am

    I had EXACTLY the same problem when I started writing. I was trying to write in third person and a more formal “fantasy” voice. I wrote two books that way — they both sucked. One day I switched to first person and something clicked. But I was still trying to write formally. The book (what would become Magic Lost, Trouble Found) still wasn’t getting off the ground. So I told myself to just write the way I heard Raine in my head — just until I could get the book going. The book took off, and then I asked myself why not go with a modern tone? It’s my world, I came up with it, my characters can talk any way they like. I went with it and haven’t looked back.

    So my advice is to go with what works for you and the story. Nothing else matters. ; )

    Lisa

  5. May 1, 2010 at 2:59 am

    I’ve bought the book this week! Although won’t get round to reading it for a little bit (for one reason and another).

    Wow – glad I checked the comments because this has just happened to me. I wrote 2 chapters of my current wip (correction, chapter 1 twice) in third person. It was ok, but it wasn’t making my beta reader get into the character’s head.

    So, when I was in a strange mood I decided to try for first person. And hey, it clicked! I love first person (to read) but didn’t think I could write it. It’s working out great. I recommend experimenting with different voices – what you want to write, and what you end up writing are very different things.


Leave a Reply

