14
Jan
10

Bringing it

Hello there, allow me to introduce myself. I’m M.K. Hobson and I’m one of these new Magic District bloggers you’ve been hearing all about. I was supposed to start blogging all the way back in December 2009 but I was in the midst of being attacked by book edits. This can be likened to death by a thousand paper cuts with copious quantities of Rockstar and other stimulants poured over them. But luckily, once the battle is over (assuming you’ve won) the wounds heal quickly and, even though your ears are ringing from lack of sleep and overcaffienation, there’s a delicious feeling of victory.

The book edits in question are for my forthcoming duology with Bantam Spectra. The first book, THE NATIVE STAR, is coming out later this year. It’s set in a magical America circa 1876, and features stones of power expelled by the consciousness of the earth, biomechanical flying machines, the transcontinental railroad, blood-sorcery, huge slavering slimy beasts called aberrancies, and, of course, young love.

When I’m not writing about biomechanical flying machines, slavering beasts, and young love, I enjoy walking my dog, debating anarchocapitalist political theory with my pinko pal Doug Lain, doing intros and readings for Podcastle (of which I am, apparently, a co-host), and participating in pie-eating contests. (I only added that last one so I could tick the “pie” ticky-box under “Categories.”)

Anyway, I’m excited about blogging here at The Magic District, and am looking forward to, as the kids say, “bringing it.”

3 Responses to “Bringing it”


  1. 1 Terri-Lynne
    January 14, 2010 at 5:00 pm

    Welcome! Snuggle in, get comfy. It’s a fun place to be.

  2. January 14, 2010 at 8:36 pm

    More new people! *does a happy dance* Also, railroads and blood sorcery are cool, too.

  3. 3 mkhobson
    January 15, 2010 at 8:35 pm

    By the way, I couldn’t figure out how to credit the photo I’ve used here, but it was taken by the wonderful and talented Ellen Datlow at one of the KGB readings. Ellen is one of the only people in the world who can take pictures of me that I don’t hate.


Leave a Reply

