07
Jan
10

Seeing stars…

Hi All,

Tis my first post here. Thanks to The Originals for the invite! 

So, um, yeah, totally seeing stars today. Just completed revisions for the second book of my urban fantasy series and am having a bit of a meltdown. My eyes hurt. My ass hurts. My wrist hurts. And my brain hurts. And it’s kind of funny how the day I scheduled myself to post here is the same day I actually finished the revisions. (The *funny* part of that sentence was total sarcasm). Things seem to clump together like that all the time, even when I take the time to schedule stuff beforehand.

I thought it’d be interesting to list some stats, so here goes:

#of drafts written: four
#of times my heroine’s heart beat: 68  (yeah, totally had to fix that)
#of total words to begin with: 75,000
#of words in final revision: 89,000
#of chapters deleted: 1
#of chapters added: 3
#of hershey kisses eaten just today: 6

I also ate tator tots, but way more than six…  And, yes, this isn’t exactly a typical intro post, but did you read the part about ‘brain hurt’? It’s still spinning with All Things Revisions, so there ya go. You get stats. Stats are fun. 

Really glad to be a part of the Magic District, and among a group of totally awesome writers. Now I’m off to sit on the front porch, mutter and cackle at the neighbors in true demented-writer style, or maybe I should go have a drink… Decisions, decisions… 😀

12 Responses to “Seeing stars…”


  1. 1 Terri-Lynne
    January 7, 2010 at 5:55 pm

    Welcome to the District! Hershey Kisses and tater tots are just reward for a task completed. Yum…kisses and tots….huh? What? Sorry–got distracted.

    I finished draft three of a book recently, and while I wait for betas to get back to me before tackling a final draft, I’m working on the dreaded synopsis. My ass hurts too. And my wrist, shoulder, brain. I feel your pain.

  2. January 7, 2010 at 6:17 pm

    Hey Terri-Lynne, and fellow tot lover. 😀 Thanks for the welcome! Ugh on the synopsis — that makes me hurt just thinking about it… My least fav thing to write, for sure. Sending non-ass-hurting thoughts your way. Hah! And good luck with the synospsis!

  3. January 7, 2010 at 7:30 pm

    Thanks, mentatjack! 🙂

  4. January 7, 2010 at 9:00 pm

    Hey there, Kelly. It’s great to see some new faces/hear some new voices here. Unfortunately, I don’t like tator tots, but I’m sure I will enjoy your posts anyway.

  5. January 8, 2010 at 3:18 am

    Hershey’s kisses are great for writer fuel 🙂

  6. January 8, 2010 at 6:05 am

    My favorite Hershey’s kisses are the cherry cordials (think that’s what they’re called), then the mint, then the regular old chocolate kiss. Yum.

    I’m so glad you’re working on another book. I won The Better Part of Darkness from Sara’s Urban Fantasy Blog, and I’m halfway through it (only halfway because life and work keep intruding on my reading time – grandchildren, puppy, have to eat dinner, etc….) I’m enjoying it quite a bit. I like the main characters conflicted feelings about her ex-husband, and that even so, she can appreciate looking at others. I also enjoy the side characters, and one of the best things (I have an obsession about this) is that your characters’ dialog is not lame, it all fits, and sounds true to the way you’ve written the characters. Nice.

  7. January 8, 2010 at 10:14 am

    I love the cordial hershey’s kisses! I got them last year when I visited Maryland (I’m in England, Europe). *wishes Hershey’s were resident in the UK*

  8. January 8, 2010 at 12:07 pm

    Thanks, Atsiko! 🙂

    Hi Yunaleska — Kisses are indeed great fuel, and totally cannot eat just one. Had no idea Hershey’s weren’t sold in the UK, though. You’ll have to stock up next time you’re in the States! 😉

    *waving* Hey Mardel! I was so glad to see you won the book vis Sara’s contest! (And glad to hear you’re liking it, too!) 😀

  9. January 8, 2010 at 12:24 pm

    Mmmmmmm Tater Tots.

    Welcome to the District. I look forward to reading more posts from you and all the other new additions.

  10. January 8, 2010 at 1:00 pm

    We can get them – they are just more expensive over here 😦 Not easy to feed my habit.

  11. January 8, 2010 at 4:38 pm

    Yunaleska – I wonder if you can order them online through hersheys…

    Kelly – I’m SO glad I won the book too. I even tried to sneak in some reading this morning while getting ready for work. Had a sore throat and seriously considered calling in, it would have given me some reading time…but I do library sessions in the morning, so I sucked it up and came in to work anyway. I’m already looking forward to your next book.


Leave a Reply

