01
Jan
10

welcome to the future!

Well… technically it’s not the future until the end of 2010, what with that being the official end of the decade, but screw it. 2010 SOUNDS like the future! And while I am still somewhat miffed at the lack of flying cars and jet packs, I’m feeling pretty bright about the future. So bright, in fact, I’m making plans!

Rachel’s Plans for 2010:

1) Be an actual mom. This includes getting my baby home from the hospital and with me all the time, rather than just an hour a day in the NICU. This should happen very soon, he’s doing really well. I’m very excited!

2) Finish all books under contract. This should also happen very soon, in the next few months. Once I get all my books turned in, I will take a month off, for serious. It will be awesome. Then I’ll start in whole hog on promotion activities. For those keeping score, my books, The Spirit Thief, The Spirit Rebellion, and the Spirit Eater, should be out October, November, December 2010 from Orbit (they have an awesome website, by the way. Go check it out if you haven’t already. Our own Nora has a post up at the moment)!

3) Start a NEW SERIES! I’ve been working on Eli and company for 3 years now, and while I love them all dearly, variety is the spice of life. I’ve got 2 more books planned for the series, but we’ll have to see how the first three sell before those get underway. So, in the months of waiting between finishing all the manuscripts and the books actually hitting the shelves, I’m going to be pitching some new ideas to my agent to see if anything sticks. I probably won’t end up as busy as Diana (I think you suffer from a overflowing of blessing there, Diana), but it never hurts to have some extra casseroles in the oven. And I could certainly use a change of scenery.

So those are my big 3 plans, the ones around which everything else revolves. If I can pull those off, 2010 is going to be great.

So, what are you big plans for next year? Any big projects? Goals? Inquiring minds want to know!

3 Responses to “welcome to the future!”


  1. January 1, 2010 at 4:06 pm

    I want to sit at the Big Kids table and point at something published and say, “I wrote that.” So I’m going to do as much as I can to achieve that goal, and, Publishing Powers willing, I’ll do it.

    It’s a pretty simple goal, really.

    World conquest comes after. 😉

  2. 2 nojojojo
    January 3, 2010 at 8:35 pm

    Projects: finish Book 3. Start YA novel that book deal temporarily hiatus’d. Write some short stories.

    Goals: Get financially stable enough (or find a travel grant!) to go on a vacation, somewhere out of the country. I really need one. -_-

    Caveats: I will make no attempt at landing on Europa.

  3. 3 sue
    January 3, 2010 at 8:52 pm

    Best wishes and all sorts of good vibes to your new baby and you.

    (Bad joke coming.) So now that the bun is out of the oven you’re going to put casseroles in it?


Leave a Reply

