11
Nov
09

Post With Four!

(No relation to Game With Four, as you can probably tell from the language.  Serious posts will follow eventually; sorry to be so fluffy of late.)

Four books that always make me cry:

  • Doomsday Book, by Connie Willis
  • Nation, by Terry Pratchett
  • The Innkeeper’s Song, by Peter S. Beagle
  • Busman’s Honeymoon, by Dorothy Sayers

Four elements I’ve always wanted to work into a story and haven’t (yet):

  • Locks. Not in the sense of keys and locks, but in the sense of canal locks. I don’t know nearly enough about the dynamics of them, but something about them appeals to my sense of Grand Metaphor. It may be for the best that I’ve never written about them.
  • A conspiracy theory as a pernicious and harmful (and potentially sentient) meme or a curse.
  • Figured bass notation. At least once every ten months I’ll get this Gene-Wilder-in-Young Frankenstein look, yell “IT COULD WORK!!!” and scratch out an outline for a story about this, then realize that it’s either so bogged down in infodump or too flimsy to go anywhere and junk the whole thing.
  • Surrealist art — specifically, Max Ernst’ collages. I know this is triggered by a story I read some time ago involving these collages, but I can’t remember the author or title or even the anthology. I had a big long outline worked out for a novel along these lines, and even a rough first draft, but it collapsed under its own symbolism.

Four books for which I’ve wanted Cliff’s Notes:

  • Vellum, by Hal Duncan
  • The Mistborn series, by Brandon Sanderson (Luckily, I think notes for these exist; I’ve just been lazy in finding them)
  • The Urth of the New Sun, by Gene Wolfe
  • Infinite Jest (oh GOD Infinite Jest) by David Foster Wallace

Four scenes for which my internal soundtrack involves far too many overwrought guitar riffs:

  • Temeraire and the Divine Wind.
  • The battle at the end of The Book of Three.
  • “No living man am I.” YEAH.
  • The last climactic scene of Wild Hunt. I refuse to feel bad about this.

Comment with four?

3 Responses to “Post With Four!”


  1. 1 Terri-Lynne
    November 11, 2009 at 11:28 pm

    Four of the characters I’d like to steal from movies to put into one of my books:
    1. Indiana Jones from movies 1 and 3 because, come on–He’s Indy.

    2. Sloth from Goonies. The misunderstood monster with a heart of gold. Gotta love him.

    3. Sorsha from Willow. Brains. Beauty. Kick-ass swordswoman. And best of all she is the redeemed daughter of the baddest of the bad. I am a sucker for redemption stories. Yes she has red hair, and she’s feisty–but that was the 80s. I don’t think it was a cliche yet then.

    4. Gladys Leeman (Kirstie Alley’s character) from Drop Dead Gorgeous. A character that heartless, soulless, vicious, vain, conniving, ambitious AND funny needs to be used as often as possible.

  2. 2 Terri-Lynne
    November 11, 2009 at 11:47 pm

    So, guys? Why do I get a confirm subscription request every time I post in here lately?? Any of you know?


Leave a Reply

