01
Sep
09

Outer Alliance Pride Day

And on an unrelated note: it’s Outer Alliance Pride Day! I am a proud member of the Outer Alliance. Anybody who’s read my fiction knows I often include characters who are queer in various ways. Why? Because it reflects the world I live in, and because I’m tired of fiction that doesn’t seem to acknowledge the existence of many of the kinds of people I know and love. So: yay for the Outer Alliance!

The group’s mission statement: As a member of the Outer Alliance, I advocate for queer speculative fiction and those who create, publish and support it, whatever their sexual orientation and gender identity. I make sure this is reflected in my actions and my work.

2 Responses to “Outer Alliance Pride Day”


  1. 1 Terri-Lynne
    September 1, 2009 at 11:14 am

    “Gay” has almost always been part of life for me, thus there are always gay characters in my stories. Usually minor characters because while my brother is gay, I am not. I don’t feel I can write these characters authentically. This last book I just finished has a gay secondary character with a fairly big plot point. I feel more confident writing him because he is, of course, brother to another secondary character. This is my comfort zone. Gay characters might always find their way into my stories, but I’m never quite sure how to handle them. Hopefully, I won’t piss anyone off!

  2. 2 tapratt
    September 1, 2009 at 11:45 am

    For me, the important thing is to remember I’m writing about an individual; they don’t have to be a stand-in for all gay characters, bisexual characters, whatever. They’re individuals, and sexuality is just one component of their whole character. Most people have had some degree of ambiguity/flexibility in their sexual identities, anyway. True 1’s or 6’s (or X’s) on the Kinsey scale are pretty rare.


Leave a Reply

