28
Jun
09

How long?

by Diana

I had my first signing for Mark of the Demon yesterday, and there was one question that I heard over and over: “How long did it take you to write this book?”

There really isn’t a simple answer to that.  So, here’s the complex answer:

I started writing it in the fall of ’06, and finished the draft about six weeks later. I set it aside for a couple of months, and then when I picked it up again (and decided that it wasn’t completely horrible,) I spent about four to five months revising it.  After I found an agent, he had me do another round of revisions which took a couple of weeks. After it sold, my editor asked me for more revisions, which took about three weeks to complete. After that, we ended up going through another round of revisions, which took about two weeks. And, finally, there was the copyedits, which took about a week. By this time it was January 2009 (or thereabouts.)

So, maybe there is a simple answer: two years and four months. 🙂

3 Responses to “How long?”


  1. 1 Terri-Lynne
    June 29, 2009 at 7:18 am

    So in Publishing-land, about eight months of hands on work is equal to two and a half years on Earth? 😛

  2. June 29, 2009 at 7:49 pm

    I never realized just how intense the writing process was and that there were so many revisions made. Makes me appreciate my books I have to read much more. Thanks! Because I really enjoyed Mark of the Demon – it’s a keeper.

    Donna

  3. 3 sex
    September 29, 2014 at 10:33 am

    Thank you for every other excellent article. Where else may just anybody
    get that type of information in such an ideal means
    of writing? I have a presentation next week, and I’m on the look for such
    info.


Leave a Reply

