08
Jun
09

Post-release Insanity

This is the post in which I reveal how cool I am. Because I had a novel come out a few weeks ago, my very first. Normally for a writer in my position, this is a time to be crazy and fretful and obsessed. If I’m to act true to form, I should be checking my Amazon rankings and monitoring bookstores that display stock on-hand, like Mysterious Galaxy and Powells. I should be twitch-googling for new reviews or even the most passing-est of mentions of my name or the title of my book. I should be keeping up a rapid-fire click rotation between Goodreads and Shelfari and Librarything to see who loves me, who hates me, who’s recommending me to their friends.

In other words, I should be doing all those things that my fellow writers who’ve gone down this path before told me not to do. Even threatened me with bodily harm and maiming, in some cases.

So, I’m not doing those things.

Except for I’m lying, because I totally am.

I’ve even seen my BookScan numbers for the first two weeks. They look pretty good. Encouraging. But my Amazon rankings have dipped since yesterday. I wonder if I should e-mail my publisher and ask them what went wrong.

Oh, by the way, the title of this blog entry is Post-release Insanity.

I’m going to go type that in the title field of the blog editor, his the little Publish button, and then go stick my head in a bucket of ice.

11 Responses to “Post-release Insanity”


  1. June 8, 2009 at 11:07 am

    It’s not too early for me to start checking Bookscan, is it..? [twitch]

  2. June 8, 2009 at 11:18 am

    Got it, Read it, LOVED IT. Congratulations! It has now been passed on to my mother with demands that she must read it.

  3. 3 Terri-Lynne
    June 8, 2009 at 11:25 am

    “Except for I’m lying, because I totally am.”

    Ah, darling–you crack me up. Believe me, today I NEEDED a laugh!

  4. 4 Suzanne
    June 8, 2009 at 4:26 pm

    Bought the book, loved it, am making my book club read it as our July book. 😀 Best of luck!

  5. June 8, 2009 at 5:04 pm

    I love it when people have read my book. Thanks for letting me know, Cathy and Suzanne!

    :-), Terri-Lynne.

    Diana, I’d tell you to stay away from the goat entrails, but I appear to have some in my eyes.

  6. 6 mlronald
    June 9, 2009 at 5:17 am

    Could you let me know if the whole bucket of ice thing works? Because…well…I can’t stop refreshing Amazon, even though I have no idea what it means.

  7. June 9, 2009 at 9:31 am

    Maggie, here’s what Amazon means: NOTHING!!!!!

    People tell me Bookscan means something, but I couldn’t tell you what or how much something.

  8. 8 rachelaaron
    June 9, 2009 at 9:51 am

    Deep breaths, Greg. Deep breaths. 😀

  9. 9 Mia
    June 9, 2009 at 9:56 am

    bought it, reading it, loving it! 😀

  10. June 9, 2009 at 2:54 pm

    ::takes notes:: Set… aside… bucket of ice… avoid Amazon… lie like a cheap rug…

    I have my copy, but haven’t read it yet — soon, tho!

  11. June 16, 2009 at 3:11 pm

    Bought it, loved it, got it SIGNED, listened to a story about a taco!


Leave a Reply

