17
May
09

Greg’s Sunday Quickie – By the authority of the mystic guardians of the universe

Our Sunday Quickie topic this week is the book or movie or thing that first got us into science fiction and fantasy. I actually can’t remember a time I when I wasn’t into science fiction and fantasy. Maybe it was the syndicated reruns of Filmation superhero cartoons. There was Superman and Batman and Aquaman, but the really cool ones were the “science-y” ones, like Green Lantern (a “cosmic crusader whose magical power ring accomplishes the impossible”),  Hawkman (a “scientific genius from another world”) and The Atom (who owes his powers to the “magic alchemy of nature’s most awesome sources of energy”).

They were pretty bad cartoons, but, hey, I was maybe four.

And then there was The Six Million Dollar Man. And Ark II, and Land of the Lost, and you pretty much couldn’t turn on your TV without bumping up against some goofy and perfectly awesome science fiction and fantasy.

And by the way, as I’m writing this, the Land of the Lost movie trailer just started playing on my TV. And all I want to say about that is this: Screw you, Will Farrell. Screw you. If something like that had been my first exposure to science fiction, I may very well have grown up illiterate.

2 Responses to “Greg’s Sunday Quickie – By the authority of the mystic guardians of the universe”


  1. 1 Terri-Lynne
    May 17, 2009 at 2:02 pm

    I will, of course, be obliged to go see Land of the Lost. My husband does get to choose the movie SOMETIMES, and he WILL choose that. Anything that includes Saturday Night Live alum–yeah, he’s seeing it. We even had to see A Night at the Roxbury. Sigh…

  2. 2 rachelaaron
    May 18, 2009 at 4:34 am

    “Screw you, Will Farrell. Screw you. If something like that had been my first exposure to science fiction, I may very well have grown up illiterate.”

    Amen to that.


Leave a Reply

