17
May
09

Diana’s sunday quickie: this path of madness

Today’s quickie topic is about how we each first got hooked on science fiction/fantasy.

I place full blame on my mother. I don’t know where she got her love of the genre, but she was definitely the one who first led me to what if stories.  She gave me books by Asimov, Heinlein, Clarke, turned the TV to Star Trek, and took me to see Star Wars. I read the Skylark of Space series, everything by Anne McCaffrey, and fell deeply deeply in love with Doctor Who. Through the Pern and Who geekdom, I found some of my nearest and dearest friends in high school, and when I went off to college (Georgia Tech–chock full o’ geeks!!) I found many more like-minded people who were more than happy to share in the love of science fiction and fantasy.

Being a fan of science fiction and fantasy is such an intrinsic part of who I am today, that I can’t even imagine what kind of person I’d be like today if I hadn’t found that amazing world.

A boring one, probably.

2 Responses to “Diana’s sunday quickie: this path of madness”


  1. May 18, 2009 at 12:55 pm

    a: I have a hard time believing that you could EVER be boring. Bored, perhaps, but not boring.

    b: I blame my mother too – Andre Norton put out a kids book called “The Day of the Awful Ness” and she got it for me because AN was her favorite author. I quickly moved from that to “Breed to Come”. The rest, as they say, is history.

    c: Geeks at Georgia Tech? REALLY???

  2. May 18, 2009 at 5:05 pm

    and I developed my love for sf via my paternal grandfather, my father–and the fact that the Saturday Evening Post ran several Bradbury short stories–including the one where the kids created a nursery that ate their parents.


Leave a Reply

