24
Apr
09

A slight variation from the usual routine

So, I was going to write an entry on gender choice in narrative fiction (i.e. why do we write girls or boys?), but then I realized something. You, you person, reading this on the internet, I don’t know who you are. Do you write books? Do you write at all? Are you a fantasy fan looking to find information on an author? Are you someone who knows one of us and gets forced to read this blog by association? (HI MOM)

So, today I’m going to take a crack at the fourth wall and ask you, dear reader, to introduce yourself. What do you want to see on this blog? Would you like to see more about the daily life of writers? The publishing industry from the inside? Agents? Literary theory and how it relates to fantasy? Writing tips? Internet drama? Lolcats? Winning lotto numbers?

Help us post to the subjects you are most interested in! Now’s your chance (well, every post is really your chance, but you get the idea), tell us what you like!

13 Responses to “A slight variation from the usual routine”


  1. 1 rachelaaron
    April 24, 2009 at 11:53 am

    Since I’m also an avid reader of this site as well as a poster, I’m actually going to cheat and get this started.

    I actually really like seeing a wide variety of subjects on the site, but I think my favorites are essays/ruminations/etc. on issues that crop up while writing. How did you get past this road block? What did you learn about writing from it? That sort of thing. I also love stories, and here I’m not talking about fiction, I’m talking about weird/interesting stuff from life, like Nora’s “tweets” about the bidding war her book sparked. Stuff like that makes me grin.

    I also like the good writing advice/bad writing advice posts, general stories about being a published author (because everyone does it differently). This is only a small slice of the things I like from our posts, but you get the general idea.

    😀

  2. 2 Lindsay
    April 24, 2009 at 2:24 pm

    Friend of a few (hi Rachel! hi Diana!) and industry professional, and my vote is this: LOLCATS ALL THE TIME.

    Seriously, I’d love to read that gender post sometime! I love those little niggling details in stories that readers often take for granted, but writers agonize over as part of the story structure process. Why is this character a man and not a woman? Why is this scene on-page when this other major event is not? Why is this part of the mystery revealed in chapter one, when we have to wait till halfway through the book for this other innocuous detail? It all looks so smooth and polished by the time most of us get to read it, but what was the process behind it? I love that stuff.

    Also, lolcats.

  3. 3 Mia
    April 24, 2009 at 3:20 pm

    New blog reader and non-professional writer here. Hi!

    I’ve only been reading here for a couple of weeks, but my favorite posts are the ones about the writing process and the decision making that goes on while developing a novel.

    I also like reading about what is going on in “book world” and getting updated on the big news worthy (one word or two? That is going to bug me.)issues. I think staying informed about events like Queryfail and Amazonfail even if I’m not personally involved is important and I like to read about how those active in the writing community react to them. Plus, I just like a bit of internet drama to get me through the day. ;D

    As an added benefit, this blog (and others like it) help make sure my book list really is infinite and that I will never catch up with all the books that I should/want to/need to read.

  4. 4 Terri-Lynne
    April 24, 2009 at 5:10 pm

    :::steps over rubble of fourth wall:::
    Hi! I’m here because Greg made me. Kidding. I have this fed through my LJ because Greg nudged me in the direction and I liked what I found here. So far, the posts have been entertaining, informative and enlightening.
    I look to you ‘for real published authors’ like a little kid looking up to an older sibling in high school. You’re a BIG kid! You get all the perks! You’re FAMOUS! 🙂 But what I love is reading about the homework and the lunatic teacher and the girls who point and laugh when you change for gym class. All the nitty-gritty ups and downs about writing from people on that rung above me (and sometimes several rungs!) really puts things in perspective.
    IMO, more of the same. Anecdotes, advice; joys, sorrows and frustrations.

  5. 5 rachelaaron
    April 24, 2009 at 6:33 pm

    I’m totally with you on the book recommendations, Mia! My TRB pile is overflowing thanks to awesome recs I’ve gotten from people here! It really is awesome to see you guys!

    And Terri-Lynne, your post made me laugh a lot, because I was just thinking today how I don’t feel very published. 😀

    Also… http://mightyredpen.files.wordpress.com/2009/01/editor-cat.jpg

    For Lindsay.

  6. 6 Matt
    April 24, 2009 at 9:10 pm

    Well, I am a reader by association! But I’m glad of it, all the same!

    I want more wacky outtakes and laugh tracks. I kid. I do like hearing about the business side of writing. Agents, publishers, how authors get published. I also like the theory behind fantasy authors, whether it’s dialogue about the genre itself or changing the rules and shifting paradigms, ever so slightly.

  7. 7 PHil.
    April 25, 2009 at 12:01 am

    Another victim of Greg, but also have read and enjoyed Tim’s work and will probably catch up on the rest of yours when I get this darned dissertation out of the way.

    I like the mishmash of writerly thoughts and am generally more interested in what you are all inspired to write about than amy formula of what must be here. So, basically, I am saying skewer your muse and let her blood flow over the District.

  8. 8 mentatjack
    April 25, 2009 at 4:54 am

    You know those connections that show how you’re connected to Kevin Bacon? I like to perform a random walk along the connections that branch out from me until I find someone who is interesting. This is how I became friends with Tim and Greg who I’ve never met in person. I love the stories behind the stories and I think you guys have found a good mix. Rarely has a week gone by since you started this that I didn’t point out a post to someone or other. Keep up the good work.

    Oh, and me, I’m an “aspiring writer.” I can actually point at full short stories on my hard drive, which is a big jump from a year ago, and I’ve been trying to THINK about my reading much more, thus my review blog. I have a physics degree, I work for an art company, and I find myself more and more drawn to fantasy. This irks the science geek in me, but pleases me nonetheless. I agree with the older sibling thing.

    and stuff.

  9. 9 Terri-Lynne
    April 26, 2009 at 7:12 pm

    Rachel, glad to give you a chuckle!

  10. 10 Alanna
    April 29, 2009 at 10:03 pm

    I am a fan, I also aspire to be an aspiring writer. I am interested to see a discussion of gender, becuse it is a question of gender that has brought me to this site. I am following Tim Pratt’s doings on the Internet and have ended up here. The iphone Kindle APP has recently revolutionized my husband’s and my reading experience. I mostly read Sci-fi Fantasy where women are the main character or at minimum where any women portrayed have a sense of personhood, and display traits with which I can identify. Essentially I am here to celebrate the fact that I have finally read a book written by a man where I could not tell it was written by a man. I was one of the women Tim’s advisors had in mind when they had him use a “pseudo”-pseudonym. My husband and I would not have been as likely to download Blood Games for free on Kindle if his name had been listed as Tim. I am excited about using the web as a tool for learning about new sub-genres like Urban Fantasy and new authors, as well as using new ways to access these writings. Every possible bookshelf in our home is filled past capacity and being able to get books digitally is a revolution. Add to that we love to spend the few hours of free time together, that we have as busy professionals and parents of two kids, reading awesome books aloud. I appreciate this blog as an opportunity to inform and regale myself during a fleeting moment of spare time. Thanks!

  11. 11 Alanna
    April 29, 2009 at 10:19 pm

    Okay. So I meantBlood Engines.

  12. 12 Lindsay
    May 5, 2009 at 3:09 pm

    Hahaha… Rachel — didn’t see Editor!Cat till today, but that is the best lolcat I have ever seen. Rock on.

  13. June 29, 2013 at 6:06 pm

    I must thank you for the efforts you have put in writing this blog.
    I really hope to view the same high-grade blog posts from you in the future as well.
    In fact, your creative writing abilities has encouraged me to get my very own site now 😉


Leave a Reply

