05
Apr
09

Rachel’s Sunday Quickie: Shoutouts

My book has yet to come out (or even be formally turned in), and so I don’t want to spoil my acknowledements page just yet. I would, however, like to give a shoutout of a different kind – one to people who helped me get published and don’t even know it. 

First, I owe an enormous thank you to all the agents and writers who spend their own free time putting information about how publishing actually works on the internet. Thank you so much for educating me and keeping me from looking like an idiot.

Second, thank you to Shawna McCarthy, who has rejected me more than pretty much anyone ever, but whose excellent notes on The Spirit Thief from the partial she read helped me solve several major plot problems. So thank you, Shawna, and I’m so happy Realms of Fantasy isn’t really going out of business!

Last, but not least, thank you to the good folks at my first job. Your crippling inability to make your own damn copies or answer you own damn phones provided me with the two years of unchallenging deskjob time necessary to develop my writing while providing me with a steady paycheck. For the record, forcing your employees to look busy when there’s no work to do is retarded, but since you never paid enough attention to me to notice (or care) that I was writing a novel on the clock, I guess I can’t complain. Thanks for giving me a great headstart! 

Love always, Rachel

2 Responses to “Rachel’s Sunday Quickie: Shoutouts”


  1. April 6, 2009 at 2:07 pm

    Love the shout-out to the first job! I was in a writing course once where the instructor told us all to get jobs as night security, because then we could get paid to write.

  2. 2 rachelaaron
    April 9, 2009 at 2:43 am

    Days late, but thanks! Yeah, that job was awful, but it was also great because I was literally so bored all I could do was write. It’s a great way to build good habits.


Leave a Reply

