15
Mar
09

Some days ya just got nuthin’

I’ve started and tossed four different posts on a variety of subjects. Part of the problem is that I’ve been insanely busy this week due to a looming deadline–one that I’m probably going to miss. (That saga was attempt #1 at a post, discarded because there wasn’t much to say beyond, “I screwed up and now I have to do major rewrites in a very short space of time.”)

Next was an attempt to describe the process of mentoring new writers, but even though I’m working with a very promising up-and-coming writer, I didn’t have much to say about mentoring other than, “I’m learning a lot by teaching, and I hope I don’t screw this up!”

Third attempt was a post about crime scenes, but I realized that it was a subject that deserved a lot more attention than I was able to give to it at that point, so that one was discarded after only a few minutes of deliberation.

Fourth and final attempt was about the frustration that some people experience when faced with the need to network and how to overcome it, but… well, by then it was late in the evening, and I had pretty much run out of time to do any sort of in-depth post.

*headdesk*

When I run into these roadblocks with my fiction, I set it aside and try again later. I go out and take a drive, or just go about the usual family routine (being sure to take my digital recorder with me just in case I get sudden inspiration!) But I don’t really have that luxury right now. I’m supposed to post something inspiring, or witty, or informative. Today. I usually write my post on Thursday or Friday, to give myself plenty of time to flail around in angst about what to write. But the rewrites have occupied most of my spare neurons, and well, y’know…

*headdesk*

 Thank god I’m a novelist. I could never last as a columnist.

–Diana

2 Responses to “Some days ya just got nuthin’”


  1. 1 rachelaaron
    March 15, 2009 at 1:39 pm

    I know the feeling. You can do it!!

  2. 2 mentatjack
    March 17, 2009 at 7:28 pm

    I feel this way with almost everything I post to my blog. I worry about the ratio of reviews to other posts. I worry about the quality of my reviews. I worry about whether to review the podcast fiction I’m listening to or read the next novel I want to review. I worry that I’m not networking enough to get the ARC’s I want. I worry about not having the time to read everything that I want to read. I worry about the order of my “to read list”

    My biggest worry is that I’m turning my enjoyment of speculative fiction into unpaid work and distracting myself from ever actually writing a publishable story…

    keep posting. Amazingly, even this post is inspiring.


Leave a Reply

