08
Mar
09

Rachel’s Sunday Quickie – More like plan wrecker

I usually start off my novels with extensive planning that then goes to waste once I figure out what I’m actually doing (generally about 1/3 of the way in, though this time it was more like 3/4ths of the way). This is why I rely so much on worldbuilding. Sometimes, it’s the only thing that saves me. 

Generally speaking, I start with random worldbuilding which I compile into a wiki once it gets large enough. Then I write out what actually happens, which takes about two pages most of the time. Often, I’ll have a really good idea of a novel’s beginning, but then things get hazy, or hit a ravine, or explode in my face, all that fun stuff. When this happens, it’s up to the characters to help me pull their story out of the ditch. Sometimes we do, and the draft becomes a novel, other times we all just stand there staring at the flaming wreckage until, embarrassed and lost, we make a silent pact to go our separate ways and never speak of this again.

In the final analysis, Rachel Aaron is a by-the-seat-of-her-pants type writer who dresses up as a planner on Sundays to try and fool the neighbors.

0 Responses to “Rachel’s Sunday Quickie – More like plan wrecker”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

