15
Feb
09

Margaret’s Sunday Quickie

What does my workspace look like?  A mess, usually.  I lack a digital camera, so I’ll try to describe it instead.

We have a tiny study about the size of a closet, and the resident organist and I have divided it up into our respective workspaces.  I’ve got the spot by the window, so most of the time when I’m writing I have a view of the street just to my right.  It’s only really distracting in summer, when I have the window open and the buses are running frequently.  We have a number of artworks up on the walls: an Alan Lee print of Olwen daughter of Ysbaddaden, a quilt square, a pair of masks, a watercolor of birches in fog, an old poster from Williams College advertising a debate.  

I work on a Mac laptop on a cheap desk that’s been disassembled and reassembled a few too many times.  To the right of the computer is a stack of papers that really need to be dealt with or filed at some point; to the left is the manuscript for Wild Hunt, thick with little tags where I need to go back over some edits.  This means that the desk is a bit more tidy than usual — when I’m just drafting, rather than revising, both sides of the desk clutter up at about the same rate.  Usually I have a cup of something warm to drink while I’m working; coffee, cocoa, hot Tang, etc.

On the door to the study hang two signs. One warns, in Russian, against standing too near the electrical box.   The other is an old sign that used to hang on the door to the room I shared with my twin.  For reasons I can’t fathom, my parents framed it and sent it up to me after I sold my first story.  In straggling, crayon letters, it reads “RYTERZ RUME.” I don’t remember why we made the sign in the first place, but I refuse to take it down.

4 Responses to “Margaret’s Sunday Quickie”


  1. 1 erstwhile sibling
    February 16, 2009 at 2:47 pm

    “I don’t remember why we made the sign in the first place…”

    *I* remember.

    Ah heh heh heh.

  2. 2 mlronald
    February 18, 2009 at 3:11 am

    No you don’t. Especially not if it has anything to do with Star Trek.

  3. February 19, 2009 at 4:31 am

    I’d still love to see a picture. You’re a published author now. Surely you deserve a digital camera. 😀

  4. 4 mlronald
    February 19, 2009 at 12:56 pm

    Maybe. At some point. Once we decide on one. (I am very slow about deciding on these things.)

    On the other hand, I still have the disposable one that I totally failed to use at NY Comic Con, so maybe I’ll put that to good use.


Leave a Reply

