13
Feb
09

Telling stories

I’m not sure there’s much I can say to introduce myself that isn’t already in my bio.  I’m a writer in my early thirties, living outside Boston with a resident organist and a whole lot of books.  I’m currently trying to balance a busy day job at ConHugeCo with keeping three books in my head at once (promoting Spiral Hunt, editing Wild Hunt, and drafting the third in the series).  I can usually whip up a batch of muffins out of whatever’s in the kitchen, I am probably more fond of cheese than is healthy for my arteries, and I have terrible taste in music.  I can hold my own in Rock Band but not Guitar Hero, I can traumatize the patrons of a karaoke bar, and I am much, much better at trash-talking than at actual gameplay.

So that’s who I am.  Why do I write?  Well, a few years back I heard a family anecdote that seemed to sum up a lot of what I feel about storytelling.  An in-law of the Ronald family, disgusted with yet another conversational tangent, finally lost all patience and exclaimed “You Ronalds!  You don’t talk!  You tell stories!”

Well, yes. 

This particular anecdote, as is the case with most family stories, is probably apocryphal.  I don’t know which branch of the family was accused of telling stories, when this occurred, or even whether it was an irate wife or an irate husband.  Chances are that even in the one-sentence story above, I’ve gotten something wrong.  

If I were a reporter, or a historian, this might bother me a lot more.  But I’m a writer; I tell lies for money.  And given the choice between stating a fact and telling a story — even a one-sentence story  — I’ll tell a story.  For me, that brief fragment of narrative, even if it elides a few facts or adds a few details that weren’t there, is much, much more interesting than a bald statement.  I’ve called myself a plot junkie, and when I’m writing working out the plot is probably the most fun part of the process, but it goes deeper than that.  We tell stories because telling stories is enjoyable.  Telling stories is part of what humans do.

Because I love thinking about magic and folklore and the not-quite-right twists one can put on an idea, most of what I write is fantasy.  I love immersing myself in mythology to the point where it’s all I see when I come up for air, and I love finding ways to show that in fiction.

So, in short, don’t trust a word I say (especially about music or how I can kick anyone’s ass at [insert game here]).  But stick around, and I might come up with something interesting.

1 Response to “Telling stories”


  1. February 13, 2009 at 10:46 pm

    Hello! Looking forward to whatever lies you want to tell.

    Cheers!


Leave a Reply

