13
Feb
09

I’m Greg van Eekhout, and I’ll be your chicken.

I always hate that part of a meeting where everyone has to go around the table and say something interesting about themselves by way of introduction. I much prefer when everyone gets hypnotized and is compelled to surrender personal information and perhaps cluck like a chicken.

Sleepy, I am getting sleeeeeepy …

My name is Greg van Eekhout. A lot of people think Eekhout is my last name and van is my middle name. Nope. The last name’s van Eekhout. It means “of oakwood.” I once mentioned out loud that I was thinking about using Greg Oakwood as a pseudonym, but a popular writer overheard me and asked if that was my elf name.

I don’t have an elf name.

My first novel, Norse Code, comes out from Bantam Spectra on May 19, 2009. You can pre-order it now from places like Amazon, Borders, or your favorite independent bookstore. My indie bookstore here in San Diego is Mysterious Galaxy.

Norse Code is a current-day fantasy about a wayward Norse god, Hermod, and a renegade Valkyrie, Kathy Castillo (aka Mist, her Valkyrie name) who have to combat a conspiracy to end the world by starting Ragnarok early.

Other characters in Norse Code include Mist’s dead sister, the ravens Hugin and Munin (Thought and Memory), an eight-legged horse, a very loyal Alaskan malamute, and a talking eyeball.

Things I did for money while writing Norse Code: media technologist at a university, contract instructional designer and media developer for a project that had something to do with teaching Navy officers critical thinking skills, English composition teacher, writer of trivia questions for a trivia game to be played by people eating wings and poppers at a new restaurant chain.

Okay, that’s probably enough introduction for now. I hope you enjoy the stuff my fellow writers and I will be posting here on The Magic District. Cluck-cluck-cluck.

4 Responses to “I’m Greg van Eekhout, and I’ll be your chicken.”


  1. February 13, 2009 at 10:48 pm

    Speaking of van Eekhout, did I tell you that the Dutch translator of MT wondered if I’d noticed there was a Dutch word in the middle of one of the magic spells in the book? Eep!

    I can’t wait to read the latest Norse Code!!!

  2. February 14, 2009 at 2:08 am

    And the translator didn’t tell you it’s a curse word?

  3. July 28, 2013 at 9:09 am

    Hi! Someone in my Facebook group shared this site with us so I came to
    take a look. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this
    to my followers! Excellent blog and terrific design and style.

  4. October 18, 2013 at 9:06 pm

    Wow, incredible weblog format! How lengthy have you ever been blogging for?

    you made running a blog look easy. The whole glance of your web site is
    great, let alone the content!


Leave a Reply

